stillplane.blogg.se

Format and partition external wd usb3 hdd for mac
Format and partition external wd usb3 hdd for mac









format and partition external wd usb3 hdd for mac

(you can find detailed instructions from here.

format and partition external wd usb3 hdd for mac

Open ‘Disk Utility’ Clicking on the Main Disk (not the secondary) click on erase an put as format: MS-DOS(FAT), and put the name of the disk. **** If it doesn’t work and you need to format again you can always go back to the PC and use the ‘WD Quick Formatter’ and it will reset it as when you took it out from the box. Run the ‘WD Quick Formatter.exe’ This will format again your external disk and will set it to PC format. If everything went OK, the format should be completed, and you will be able to use the External disk in both PC and iOS. (you can find detailed instructions from here: )

format and partition external wd usb3 hdd for mac

Open ‘Disk Utility’Ĭlicking on the Main Disk (not the secondary) click on erase an put as format: MS-DOS(FAT), and put the name of the disk. Run the ‘WD Quick Formatter.exe’ This will format again your external disk and will set it to PC format.Įject and reconnect to Mac. (Make sure you unzip the content on the indicated folder: C:\Users\xxxxx\AppData\Local\Temp\wz1be1\WDSmartWare ) Unzip the file on your PC and run the program. You will need a PC with windows.įrom the PC download the ‘WD Quick Formatter For Windows’ (maybe you can actually download the mac version on your mac, but in my case I have Sierra and the software is not supported, that is why I had to use a PC)ĭownload the software from this WD article:

#FORMAT AND PARTITION EXTERNAL WD USB3 HDD FOR MAC HOW TO#

Long story short, I figured out how to fix it. MediaKit reports not enough space on device for requested operation. I decided to divide it into 2 partitions, one for Win and the other for Mac (I have a Win XP desktop and a MacBook laptop). Out of the box it is formatted as one 250Gig FAT32 partition. Using the Disk Utility I erase the disk as the instructions indicate, didn’t work, I got a message: Hi, I just bought a WD Passport 250 GByte external USB drive. I just bought an external disk and since I own a mac I also came to this site to format the disk so I’m able to use it in my mac.











Format and partition external wd usb3 hdd for mac